To Bishop! A 248 Mile Detour

We headed out of Short Canyon kicking dust up as we went down the dirt trail. As if we were saying “so long and thanks for everything!” We knew our destination was way out of the way, but sometimes when you are having so much fun on the road, you just don’t care. You go for it, and so we did. As we got back onto the 395 and we headed north. I think we worried for a bit if we made the right choice. I’ll be honest, a little doubt sunk into my mind, and I’m always up for a spontaneous adventure. Yet, the more I thought about it, the better I felt. It’s just an extra four hours, I said to myself. We can do this!20160331_164242_Richtone(HDR)

After driving for a half hour we started to see the basalt flows and the red cinder cone fast approaching in the distance. We instantaneously knew we had to make a quick stop at Fossil Falls. If you are ever traveling through California and on the 395, and you want to stretch your legs and see something cool. Then you must make a stop here. The basalt flows were shaped and changed from rivers and glaciers, making the rock here smooth and polished with large potholes. It’s really cool to see the large holes and the sudden drop in the rock. It looks like a waterfall made up of rock. To the north of the fields you’ll see a large red cone, called a cinder cone. It’s an extinct volcano! How cool is that?! Okay enough geeking out about rocks, onto the adventure!  IMG_20160402_223051

20160331_150416_Richtone(HDR)After leaving Fossil Falls we kept traveling north, anxiously anticipating are arrival at Erick Schat’s. Even though we were pressed for time, we still made random stops off the road. Just so that we could stop and appreciate the glorious Sierra Nevada Mountains. I swear if you ever get the chance to see them in the afternoon light, you will feel in awe and humbled by their presence. There is no other way to describe their glory. It’s something you have to just witness with your own eyes. Only then will you know what truth I am telling you. Only then will you have your breath taken away. 20160331_160415

After we arrived in Bishop, we pulled into Schat’s where we got whatever bread we could and then we were off, back on the road. Enjoying our bounty of bread and the open road, we felt good, joyous even. I think it was this time that really made the trip. Sure we saw some of nature’s grand spectacles and have had a blast up to this point. But now we were having a carpool karaoke session and it was absolutely fantastic! We totally got into the moment and it nearly lasted the whole ride home. I don’t think I have ever had so much fun driving home as I did on that trip. We sang, we danced, we ate, and we took pictures of the setting sun behind the Sierras. It was magical. I almost didn’t want it to end. It was one of those rare beautiful moments that you share with a person. Those rare moments that you will keep forever, wherever you go. Those are my favorite moments. Those are the moments that I hope to always have on all of my adventures.  20160331_185644_Richtone(HDR)

One thought on “To Bishop! A 248 Mile Detour

Leave a Reply

